2012 Paid Federal Holidays

By • January 2, 2012 Comments

What will the federal holiday schedule be in the new year for current federal employees? The list of ten official holidays as provided by OPM is as follows:

  • Monday, January 2 – New Year’s Day
  • Monday, January 16 – Birthday of Martin Luther King, Jr.
  • Monday, February 20 – Washington’s Birthday
  • Monday, May 28 – Memorial Day
  • Wednesday, July 4 – Independence Day
  • Monday, September 3 – Labor Day
  • Monday, October 8 – Columbus Day
  • Monday, November 12 – Veterans Day
  • Thursday, November 22 – Thanksgiving Day
  • Tuesday, December 25 – Christmas Day

Subscribe to federal holidays calendar (ICAL)

OPM notes that for holidays that fall on a weekend, the holiday is usually observed on Friday for a Saturday holiday and Monday for a Sunday holiday, such as what was just the case with New Year’s.

In the United States, a federal holiday is a public holiday recognized by the United States Federal government. Non-essential federal government offices are closed. All federal employees are paid for the holiday; those who are required to work on the holiday sometimes receive holiday pay for that day in addition to ordinary wages. See the OPM web site for more information.

© 2014 FedSmith Inc. All rights reserved. This copyrighted article may not be reproduced without express written consent of FedSmith Inc.

Tags:

About the Author (  |   )

Ian Smith is one of the co-founders of FedSmith.com. He enjoys writing about current topics that affect the federal workforce. Ian has worked in the web development field since 1998 and does the development and programming for the FedSmith.com web site and its sibling sites.

Comments

Free Email Updates

Sign up for our free email updates to get our latest news sent directly to your inbox
  • Our top stories sent each business day
  • More news from your FedSmith.com authors
  • The day's closing prices for the TSP funds
  • Videos for the federal workforce