‘Federal 100’ Award Winners Announced

Federal Computer Week announces the winners of its ‘Federal 100’ awards

Federal Computer Week recently released the winners of its 16th annual Federal 100 Awards. The 2005 awards are presented to public and private sector information technology professionals who made outstanding contributions to the government IT community in 2004.

“This is a growing and dynamic market. The 16th annual Federal 100 Awards honor the individuals who go way beyond just doing a good job. These are the people who drive change, who make government smarter and more efficient,” said Federal Computer Week Publisher Anne Armstrong. “This year’s winners become part of a tradition of excellence and service. We applaud them and their achievements.”

Award winners will be honored at the 16th annual Federal 100 Awards Gala on March 23 at the Ritz Carlton in McLean, Va. The gala will also award recipients of Federal Computer Week’s Monticello and Eagle awards. The Monticello Award recognizes a single information system or program that has had a direct impact on the public at large. The Eagle Award is presented to one government official and one industry executive for outstanding contributions to the federal IT community.

Federal Computer Week’s March 21 issue will be dedicated to the 2005 Federal 100 Awards. The issue will highlight each of the winners and their accomplishments. It will also profile some of the more innovative winners.

2005 Federal 100 Award Winners

Randy Adkins

Air Force

Anne K. Altman


Zalmai Azmi


Col. Robert G. Baker

Marine Corps

Carol Bales

Energy Department

Joan Barr

Internal Revenue Service

Glenn Beach

Cybernet Systems

Meredith Benson

Office of Management and Budget

Jerry L. Berson

Social Security Administration

Lt. Col. Joseph Besselman

Air Force

Hari Bezwada


Sam Bodman

Treasury Department

Kenneth Buetow

National Cancer Institute

Brian Burns

Bureau of Indian Affairs

Col. Joseph “Tom” Catudal

Coalition Provisional Authority

Daniel J. Chenok

SRA International

Col. David W. Coker


John M. Dalrymple

Internal Revenue Service

Ruth E. Dayhoff

Department of Veterans Affairs

Jim Dempsey

Center for Democracy and Technology

Scott F. Denniston

Department of Veterans Affairs

Shivani Desai

Office of Management and Budget

Rhonda Diaz

Office of Personnel Management

Joe Farley


Col. Timothy Fong


Mary B. Freeman


Paul Garver

Quest Software

Lt. Col. Thomas Gaylord

Air Force

Lawrence Gross

Energy Department

Priscilla E. Guthrie

Defense Department

J. Greg Hanson


Morris J. Head

Internal Revenue Service

Karen Hogan

Commerce Department

Charles Jennings

Swan Island Networks

Maureen Jewell

Big Sky Economic Development Authority

Clay Johnson

Office of Management and Budget

Col. William Kelley

Defense Department

Afzal Khan

Crown Consulting

James A. Kissko

Social Security Administration

Dr. Robert M. Kolodner

Veterans Health Administration

Karl O. Krumbholz

General Services Administration

Michael Kurtz

National Archives and Records Administration

Chris Louden

Enspier Technologies

Gilman Louie


Craig Luigart

Department of Veterans Affairs

Tonya J. Manning

Labor Department

J. Patrick McConnel

Internal Revenue Service

Capt. Sheila McCoy


J. Patrick McCreary

Justice Department

Patricia McGinnis

Council for Excellence in Government

John W. McManus


Edward Meagher

Department of Veterans Affairs

Larry C. Mercier

Office of Personnel Management

Maj. Gen. Dale W. Meyerrose

Air Force

Harris N. Miller

Information Technology Association of America

Donna Morea


J. Eun Moredock

Energy Department

Robert Myhill


Long V. Nguyen


Chris Niedermayer

Agriculture Department

Meg Offit Gold

Treasury Department

John L. Okay

Topside Consulting Group

Cmdr. Randy Onders


Robert L. Otto

U.S. Postal Service

Paul D. Peters

Defense Logistics Agency

Jonathan Q. Pettus


Harry Piccariello


Curtis Porter

Federal Aviation Administration

Rep. Adam Putnam

House of Representatives

Venkatapathi Puvvada


J. Lisa Romney

Defense Department

Robert Roth

Agriculture Department

Gregory D. Rothwell

Homeland Security Department

Charles Russell

Army Reserves

Lt. Col. Joe Schafer


James R. Shanks

CDW Government

John Sindelar

General Services Administration

Rear Adm. Andrew M. Singer


Sandra Smith


Stan Soloway

Professional Services Council

J. Timothy Sprehe

Sprehe Information Management Associates

Melva Strang

Air Force

Kirk Swann

Touchstone Consulting Group

Louis Sweeny

Ross & Associates Environmental Consulting

Jeanette Thornton

Office of Management and Budget

Barbara Trujillo


Tish Tucker

Agriculture Department

Lauren Uher

Office of Management and Budget

Doug Wagoner

Data Systems Analysts

James D. Ward


Lt. Col. Marianne E. Watson


Janet L. Webster

U.S. Postal Service

David M. Wennergren


Barry C. West

Federal Emergency Management Agency

Sandra Wetzel-Smith


James Williams

Homeland Security Department

Gary L. Winkler


Abbas Yazdani


Scott Yi


Tim Young

Office of Management and Budget

About the Author

Ralph Smith has several decades of experience working with federal human resources issues. He has written extensively on a full range of human resources topics in books and newsletters and is a co-founder of two companies and several newsletters on federal human resources. Follow Ralph on Twitter: @RalphSmith47