2012 Paid Federal Holidays

Current federal employees get ten official holidays in 2012 as defined by OPM.

What will the federal holiday schedule be in the new year for current federal employees? The list of ten official holidays as provided by OPM is as follows:

  • Monday, January 2 – New Year’s Day
  • Monday, January 16 – Birthday of Martin Luther King, Jr.
  • Monday, February 20 – Washington’s Birthday
  • Monday, May 28 – Memorial Day
  • Wednesday, July 4 – Independence Day
  • Monday, September 3 – Labor Day
  • Monday, October 8 – Columbus Day
  • Monday, November 12 – Veterans Day
  • Thursday, November 22 – Thanksgiving Day
  • Tuesday, December 25 – Christmas Day

OPM notes that for holidays that fall on a weekend, the holiday is usually observed on Friday for a Saturday holiday and Monday for a Sunday holiday, such as what was just the case with New Year’s.

In the United States, a federal holiday is a public holiday recognized by the United States Federal government. Non-essential federal government offices are closed. All federal employees are paid for the holiday; those who are required to work on the holiday sometimes receive holiday pay for that day in addition to ordinary wages. See the OPM web site for more information.

About the Author

Ian Smith is one of the co-founders of FedSmith.com. He has over 20 years of combined experience in media and government services, having worked at two government contracting firms and an online news and web development company prior to his current role at FedSmith.