How Many Holidays Will You Get in 2013?

View this article online at https://www.fedsmith.com/2012/12/28/how-many-holidays-will-you-get-in-2013/ and visit FedSmith.com to sign up for free news updates
By on December 28, 2012 in Pay & Benefits with 4 Comments

With the new year quickly approaching, you may want to start planning your vacation time in 2013.

According to OPM, federal employees will get the following ten paid holidays next year, the first one coming next week with New Year’s Day.

Tuesday, January 1 New Year’s Day
Monday, January 21 Birthday of Martin Luther King, Jr.
Monday, February 18* Washington’s Birthday
Monday, May 27 Memorial Day
Thursday, July 4 Independence Day
Monday, September 2 Labor Day
Monday, October 14 Columbus Day
Monday, November 11 Veterans Day
Thursday, November 28 Thanksgiving Day
Wednesday, December 25 Christmas Day

OPM also notes that this year, the Inauguration Day holiday falls on Monday, January 21, 2013, which is also the legal public holiday for the Birthday of Martin Luther King, Jr. For Federal employees who work in the District of Columbia, Montgomery or Prince George’s Counties in Maryland, Arlington or Fairfax Counties in Virginia, or the cities of Alexandria or Fairfax in Virginia, Inauguration Day is observed concurrently with the Martin Luther King, Jr., holiday. Federal employees in these areas are not entitled to an in-lieu-of holiday for Inauguration Day.

© 2017 Ian Smith. All rights reserved. This article may not be reproduced without express written consent from Ian Smith.

Tags:

About the Author

Ian Smith is one of the co-founders of FedSmith.com. He enjoys writing about current topics that affect the federal workforce.

Top