FLRA Swears in New Members

The FLRA has announced that three individuals have been sworn in as Authority Members after confirmation by the Senate.

The Federal Labor Relations Authority recently announced that three individuals were sworn in either as brand new Authority Members or continued terms after confirmation by the Senate on November 16. The FLRA has lacked a full complement of Members since January 3, 2017.

Colleen Duffy Kiko was sworn in as FLRA Chairman, Ernest DuBester was sworn in for a third term as an Authority Member, and James T. Abbott was sworn in for a first term as an Authority Member.

Colleen Duffy Kiko returns to the FLRA after serving as its General Counsel from 2005 to 2008, having been nominated to that position by President George W. Bush and unanimously confirmed by the U.S. Senate. She also worked at the FLRA’s predecessor agency, the Labor Management Services Administration of the Department of Labor (DOL).

Ernest DuBester was recently renominated to his position at the FLRA by President Trump. He has served as an FLRA Member since August 2009 and was initially appointed and re-nominated by President Barack Obama. He also served as FLRA Chairman from January to November of 2013, and for a second time in January of 2017.

James T. Abbott served as the Senior Executive Service (SES) Chief Counsel to three Chairmen of the Authority – Patrick Pizzella, Thomas Beck, and Dale Cabaniss. Before joining the FLRA, Member Abbott served as Deputy General Counsel for the Congressional Office of Compliance (2004 to 2007), where he led the investigation and prosecution of alleged violations of labor, employment, and safety and health laws within the Legislative Branch.

About the Author

Ian Smith is one of the co-founders of FedSmith.com. He has over 20 years of combined experience in media and government services, having worked at two government contracting firms and an online news and web development company prior to his current role at FedSmith.