Biden Nominates New FSIP Members

President Biden has announced his intent to nominate new members to the FSIP.

President Biden announced his intent to nominate the following new members to the Federal Service Impasses Panel yesterday.

The FSIP is a component of the Federal Labor Relations Authority that resolves impasses between federal agencies and federal employee unions.

Martin H. Malin

Martin H. Malin is Professor Emeritus at Chicago-Kent College of Law, Illinois Institute of Technology, where he taught for 41 years, founded the Institute for Law and the Workplace, and served as Director of the Institute for 25 years. He joined the Chicago-Kent faculty in 1980 after serving as law clerk to United States District Judge Robert E. DeMascio in Detroit and on the faculty of The Ohio State University. A renown scholar on the law governing the workplace, he has published more than 80 articles and seven books on labor law.

Wynter Patrice Allen

Wynter Patrice Allen is a Partner at the Alden Law Group, PLLC in Washington, D.C. where she practices labor and employment law. Ms. Allen has also served as a Commissioner on the District of Columbia’s Commission on Human Rights since 2017. From 2011 until 2013, Ms. Allen served as the Chair of the District of Columbia’s Public Employee Relations Board. From 2006-2010, Ms. Allen was a Staff Attorney at the International Brotherhood of Teamsters. Ms. Allen has served as an Adjunct Professor for the Elon Law School Externship Program and Howard University School of Law. Ms. Allen has a law degree from Wake Forest University School of Law and a B.A. from the University of Chicago.

Jeanne Charles

Jeanne Charles resides in Florida with a multi-state ADR practice including arbitration, mediation and fact-finding predominantly in the areas of workplace disputes. She earned her Juris Doctorate degree from DePaul University College of Law in Chicago and maintains her law license in Illinois. Ms. Charles currently serves as a labor and employment arbitrator on various public and private sector panels including professional sports.

Howard Friedman

Howard Friedman served 25 years in the federal government as an attorney and 23 years as President of the National Treasury Employees Union, Chapter 245, at the United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO). A former chief spokesperson and negotiator for the Trademark attorneys at the USPTO, Mr. Friedman is experienced in federal labor law, negotiating collective bargaining agreements, labor-management and employee relations, government operations, and mediating and resolving workplace disputes. He was the labor co-chair of the USPTO and Department of Commerce labor-management forum.

Edward F. Hartfield

Edward F. Hartfield has spent his 45-year career as an impartial third party in the roles of mediator, arbitrator, facilitator, election administrator, and neutral convenor. Previously, Hartfield was appointed by Presidents Obama and Clinton to serve as a Member of the Federal Service Impasses Panel. He has also served as Commissioner with the Federal Mediation and Conciliation Service and Mediator for the New Jersey Office of Dispute Settlement.

Marvin E. Johnson

Marvin E. Johnson is the Executive Director of the Center for Alternative Dispute Resolution, which he founded at Bowie State University in 1986. He was Associate Professor of Labor Relations, Law, and Dispute Resolution at Bowie State University and an Adjunct Professor at the Catholic University School of Law. Mr. Johnson has served three terms as a Member of the Federal Service Impasses Panel and one term as a Member of the Foreign Service Grievance Board.

Mark Gaston Pearce

Mark Gaston Pearce is a visiting professor and executive director of the Georgetown University Law Center, Workers’ Rights Institute. He is also a panel labor arbitrator and mediator for AAA and FMCS. Formerly a Board Member and Chairman of the National Labor Relations Board, he previously taught at Cornell University’s School of Industrial and Labor Relations.

Pamela R. Schwartz

Pamela Schwartz has over 20 years of experience in federal labor management relations. She held positions with increasing levels of authority within the Patent Office Professional Association, an independent federal labor union representing over 8000 patent examiners and other patent professionals at the United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO).

Joseph E. Slater

Joseph Slater is a Distinguished University Professor and the Eugene N. Balk Professor of Law and Values at the University of Toledo College of Law. He holds a B.A. from Oberlin College, a J.D. from the University of Michigan Law School, and a PhD in history from Georgetown University. Before coming to Toledo in 1999, he practiced labor and employment law in Washington, D.C. for over a decade. Since coming to Toledo, he has published numerous books and articles on labor and employment law, especially in the area of public-sector labor law.

Tamiko N.W. Watkins

Tamiko Walker Watkins, Esq. is an Assistant General Counsel at the Millennium Challenge Corporation (MCC). In this role, Mrs. Watkins serves as MCC’s senior legal advisor on employment and administrative law and is responsible for managing the administrative law team. She also oversees the MCC’s Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) program office, whistleblower protection program, and serves as the Alternate Designated Agency Ethics Official. Prior to MCC, she served as a Senior Trial Attorney and Assistant Counsel for the Department of the Navy.

About the Author

Ian Smith is one of the co-founders of He has over 20 years of combined experience in media and government services, having worked at two government contracting firms and an online news and web development company prior to his current role at FedSmith.